

IRISH KIDNEY ASSOCIATION CLG

FOUNDED IN 1978

> Irish Kidney Association Annual General Meeting Saturday 24th June 2023 at 11am Louis Fitzgerald Hotel, Naas Road, Dublin 24

Attendance: Eddie Flood, (National Chairman), Joan Gavan, (National Treasurer), Marie Fowley, (National Secretary), Cathriona Charles, Patricia May, Liz O'Sullivan, Elsie Moore, Chloe Kinahan, Michelle Horan, Liam Buttle, Deirdre Heslin, Valerie Brady, Catherine Buttle, Ailis Doyle, William Heslin, Seamus Kavanagh, Peter Kearney, Angela Kirwan, Trish Lindy, Elaine McGrath Heslin, Gerry McKenna, Daniel O'Connell, Rachel O'Hara, Marguerite Sneyd, Patrick Sneyd, Fiona Stimpson, Simon Walsh, John Whelan, Una Whelan, , Sean Fowley, Ronald Condren, William Gavan, Colin Mackenzie

Apologies: Frances Moynihan, Eoin Madden, Pat O'Sullivan, Jacqueline Burke, Jennifer McDermott, Maura Quigley, Hugh Byrne, Angela Kirwan, Sharon Fitzgerald, Vera Frisby, Miriam Walsh, Margaret Hanratty, Mary Downes, Marjorie Stanley, Carol Stanley, Florence Stanley, William Stanley,

In attendance: Carol Moore, Chief Executive and Ashling Hand taking minutes. Aoife Smyth, Gary Davitt. Sarah Buchanan Lisa Fitzgerald, Deborah Cervi, Margaret Doyle, Colette Hawe, Colin White

The Chief Executive welcomed the members to the meeting.

The Chairman held a minute silence in honour of members and organ donor families who had died during the year.

A quorum of 20 was set.

1. Minutes of last Annual General Meeting – National Honorary Secretary.

Marie Fowley, National Honorary Secretary read the minutes. The minutes were proposed by Una Whelan and seconded by Gerry McCann.

2. Approval and adoption of the Annual Accounts for the year ended 31st December –

National Honorary Treasurer.

Patron: Michael D. Higgins, President of Ireland

Directors: V. Brady, J. Burke, L. Buttle, C. Charles, S. Fitzgerald, E. Flood, M. Fowley, J. Gavan, D. Heslin, M. Horan, C. Kinahan, A. Kirwan, E. Madden, P. May, J. McDermott, E. Moore, F. Moynihan, L. O'Sullivan, P. O'Sullivan, M. Quigley.

Joan Gavan, National Honorary Treasurer read the Treasurer's report. The annual accounts were proposed by Colin Mackenzie by and seconded by Simon Walsh

3. Appointment of Auditors and authorisation of the Directors to fix the Auditor's remuneration.

A vote was taken to appoint the auditors and authorise the Directors to fix the Auditors Remuneration, and there were no objections.

4. National Honorary Chairman's Report.

Eddie Flood, National Honorary Chairman read the chairpersons report. Marie Fowley National Honorary Secretary read the names of those who retired since the AGM in 2022.

Directors

Hugh Byrne, Patrick O'Brien Dermot Glynn Pat May

Branch officers

Dublin North, Secretary, Patricia Mackenzie may she rest in peace. Offaly, Chairperson Jerome Burke may he rest in peace. Limerick Treasurer Finola O'Brien Offaly Treasurer, Mary Young Westmeath Treasurer, Valerie Galvin

Patricia May, Carlow Branch made a correction. The Board noted the officers had not retired but had resigned.

The Chairman informed the members that the Service of Remembrance and Thanksgiving will be held in the Cathedral of Christ the King in Mullingar on Saturday 14th of October at 2pm.

5. Resolutions or Motions:

There were no resolutions or motions.

6. AOB:

The national treasurer (Joan Gavan) and national secretary (Marie Fowley) submitted their resignations as national officers at the end of the meeting. They will continue as National Directors.

There were no questions under this item.

The formal AGM then ended at 12.30pm.

The Chief Executive Officer then delivered a presentation on the Human Tissue Bill and answered questions from the members.

Members were then invited to lunch.